LA – our final stop

WOW! It has been eleven weeks since I started this blog and began my fantastic trip around North America with Miss W. We have only one stop left – that is with Mrs Yollis and her class in Los Angeles.

Our first night here, Mrs Yollis  and her husband Todd, had invited their friends for a meal. Delicious hickory smoked chicken cooked on a rotisserie in the BBQ, asparagus and rice then fresh fruit and chocolates for dessert.

The next couple of days Miss W drove to three different schools to visit classes that were blogging. Again we spoke about our trip and especially about the plight of the Tasmanian devils. The students also had lots of questions, so many that we ran out of time. They will need to put their questions on the link in my blog, so the Aussie students can answer them.

When we visited Mrs Yollis’ class, I met Panda and Beverley. I already knew of Panda because he helped create the video about ‘Quality Comments‘, but this was the first time I had seen Beverley. Apparently Beverley is good at playing a game called ‘Switch or Bamboo‘.

Pacific Ocean and smog over downtown LA

While we weren’t visiting classes, Miss W did her normal thing – get in the car and go for a drive. So we went up and down the canyons here on the Pacific coastline – a lot different from the canyons in the desert areas of USA and Canada. One thing we often see on the news, especially in the American summer, is images of brushfires in the canyons on the west coast near Malibu. That was where we went for a drive.

One evening after school, Mrs Yollis had been invited to speak (5 minutes only) about using technology in her classroom. This was as part of a panel, in front of many administrators and superintendents of education as well as senators and other politicians. She did a magnificent job talking about her class blog and was the only speaker who had visuals as part of her presentation.

Well, it is time to go and help Miss W pack our bags ready to head back to Australia. We need to clean out the car, give Mrs Yollis all the brochures we have collected as we travelled and say goodbye to Squirrel. It will be good to have some company on the long trip back to Australia.

I would like to thank all the classes that have been following my journey around USA and Canada. Make sure you keep checking the questions and answers section.

Also remember to check out Squirrel’s blog once we arrive in Australia.

Bye, see you later, ciao, arrivederci, au revoir, auf wiedersehen.

How do you feel when something is over – a great holiday, reading a magnificent book? What do you do to start feeling good again?

5 thoughts on “LA – our final stop

  1. Dear Miss W. and Davo,

    It was a pleasure having you stay at our house and we certainly enjoyed hearing about your adventures out on the open roads of North America!

    Traveling around is something I enjoy doing as well. Although Mr. Yollis and I have done some driving around the United States, you have seen many more states than we have! We need to get going!

    Hope you and Miss W. had a safe journey home and we’ll be sure to keep in touch!

    Your friends,
    Mr. and Mrs. Y♥llis
    California

    • Jack,
      Davo is staying in USA/Canada, but for my next trip I think I want to travel more in Australia.

      There are some places I haven’t seen for 45 years such as Cairns and Darwin. I went there when I was about 10 years old with my parents and brother as a three month trip around Australia.

      I reckon they have changed tremendously in that time.

  2. Dear Miss W and Davo,
    I agree with Mrs. Yollis – you have travelled through more US states than I have!
    I have done quite a bit of traveling in the US, but not quite as many as you.
    Do you know how many miles you put on the rental car you had? I’m curious!
    I hope you had a great trip home!
    From,
    Mrs. Hembree

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *