Going to an Ice Hockey Game

Hello again friends! I’m so excited to tell you about my weekend with Jackie and Taylor from Mr. Salsich’s class. I spent Friday and Saturday with Jackie and had lots of fun getting to know her and her family.

Then on Sunday Jackie and I rode scooters down the street to her friend Taylor’s house.

My new friends, Taylor and Jackie

*

Taylor and her family took me to see an ice hockey game in Rhode Island! The teams were the Providence Bruins against the Albany Devils (Hey, that’s a cool name!)

At the hockey game with Taylor

*

Ice hockey is an interesting sport where two teams skate on an ice rink and pass a small “puck” back and forth with their sticks and try to shoot it in the other teams goal. Here is a animated image to show the rink and the positions (but each team also has a goalie):

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Ice_Hockey_Left_Wing_Lock.gif

It was cool how the players could skate backwards and pass the puck without looking!

*

And here is another animated image to show a “two on one” scoring play:

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Ice_Hockey_2-on-1_One-Timer.gif

Hockey is a very exciting game because it is so fast – kind of like me!

*

After the game and the exciting weekend I was pretty tired-out and ready for some sleep.

All tucked in and ready to snooze

Thanks Taylor and Jackie for a great weekend!

*

Have you ever been to a hockey game?

Have you played hockey, or gone ice-skating?

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *